The current family of banknotes used in Botswana was launched on August 21, 2009. The banknotes family includes five notes in a denomination structure comprising P10, P20, P50 and P100, and P200. 

All, except the P200 note which was not issued previously, retain the basic colour and layout as the earlier notes. All notes feature a rampant zebra watermark. The main design features of the new banknotes are as follows.


The banknote is green with the portrait of His Excellency the President Dr. Eric Mokgweetsi Masisi. On the reverse side, the picture is of the National Assembly building.


The banknote is purple with the art work of a woman teaching pupils. The concept is intended primarily to underscore the contribution of women in the country’s development through education. On the reverse side, there is a picture of a herd of zebras at a waterhole.


The banknote is blue with the portrait of the three chiefs who travelled to Britain in the 1890s to secure the country’s identity. On the reverse side, the picture is an open pit diamond mine and a diamond sorter examining a rough diamond.


The banknote is brown with the portrait of Sir Seretse Khama, the founding president of Botswana. On the reverse side, the picture is of the Okavango Delta swamps, featuring a man on a mokoro (small boat) and a fish eagle.


The banknote is red with the portrait of the composer of the national anthem, Dr K T Motsete. On the reverse side, the picture is of a mining installation.